Motivation in checkmarks

Alright, so as I’ve been letting myself slip back in procrastination underwear and a suit of laziness these last few days, I’ve started making daily to-do lists again. My self-discipline is playing hide and seek again and the only way to get it to get out of its hiding spot is to provoke it. So, here I go, making to-do lists and not allowing myself to go to bed until I’ve checked all the boxes. Somehow, having boxes to tick helps me do things sometimes. There is some kind of satisfaction to just ☑ , I find it quite funny actually and well, it’s a way to get work done.

So today, one of the things I wrote on my to-do list was to write a post on my blog and I didn’t specify what kind of post or imply it had to be an interesting one so this is basically what this is. This is so I can tick another box and sleep a little earlier tonight.

It’s already 11:34pm and I’ve done a lot of walking today so I need rest. But I won’t let myself just postpone things cos I’m tired; no. I must learn to make a better use of all the time I have in a day to get things done and work around my fleeting focus. And my poor time management cannot be used as an excuse to postpone everything. I believe it’s okay to run away but not from the hard-work and hardships that lead to making my dreams come true. I can run from everything else if I want to but not that.

Although I’ve almost ticked everything on the list, it feels I’ve not gotten a lot done today. But I did buy two amazing Minecraft related books for my little brother’s birthday, and that’s awesome, right? I’m sure he’s gonna love them! And well, I’ve been working on my presents for mom too but not enough. Also, I think I’ve decided what song I should cover(this weekend veryyy probably)next for my youtube channel. I realize that posting (somewhat good) content often keeps people coming, so I should work a little more seriously at this, I suppose.

Also I have two (not necessarily interesting) pending posts in my drafts that should become a thing in the next few days. I still have to write the French versions of the last two chapters of Uncage the Night before I work on chapter VIII. But I might have one or two original songs coming out some time in the near future.

So, that’s it. Off I go now ticking that box off my list and moving on to the next last two things left on it before I can shower and rest!

If you’re feeling like you just can’t get out the laziness bubble you’ve somehow gotten in lately(or maybe since the Beginning of (your) Time), maybe you should find little tricked treats to get yourself out of it, you know? If you’ve ever had to give pills to a cat/dog, you probably know what I’m talking about. A cat/dog obviously smells you’re giving it bullshit if you just hand it the pill like that and it doesn’t want it, so of course it will just turn around/run away. BUT, the key is to hide the pill in a little ball of meat so that it will gulp it down unknowingly. See where I’m going with this? Ticking boxes is a bit that for me sometimes. It’s easy to just go back to being lazy and get nothing done everyday(even though it upsets me because deep inside I know I should be doing the most I can each day I get to live), but those boxes to tick are like the meat balls. I will get work done not necessarily realizing I’m being productive just so I can tick the boxes and well, I’d have tricked myself into working with a simple little treat.

So, if you really want to pop that bubble and walk the same ground as productive/successful people, but you can’t seem to do it, find what tricked treat works for you. Maybe ticking boxes is the thing for you too! Or maybe you’re more into filling a jar with colored stuffs each time you get something done. Or maybe all you really need is a cookie each time you get a task done. Whatever it is, find it and drag yourself out of your laziness.

Life is short and you’ve got to live it. If you’ve got dreams, go out there and make them come true. Don’t just wait around because the world would never stop for you. You’ve got to make things happen if you want them to happen. You don’t have infinite time, you can’t wind back or start over, once you’ve reached the end of your line you can’t go back. Don’t waste your time cos you never know how long that line you’re walking on is. But what you can be sure of is that each step you make forward destroys the line facing your back, and it’s only on you go. No turning back, only moving forward. So make sure you use the most of your time the way you want it and that each minute you live is filled with at least 69% of pleasure.

This post is a mess and fits perfectly in the “rambleramble” category! Ha ha But yeah, basically, don’t take all your tomorrows for granted. Forget about tomorrows. Now is the time to do things. ‘Later’ doesn’t exist, ‘tomorrow’ doesn’t exist. It’s all about now. I should really stop typing now it’s 12:06am and I still have two things to do before I get to sleep, so I’ll just end this post with a quote from My Chemical Romance’s last album: Danger Days: The True Lives Of the Fabulous Killjoys:

The future is bulletproof
The aftermath is secondary
It’s time to do it now and do it loud
Killjoys, make some noise!

I just had to quote MCR, I couldn’t help it. Anyways, the point is, there’s no better time to live than now. There’s no better time and place to do things than now. So, whoever you are and whatever dreams you have, your fight starts now, so be fearless and wage that war against yourself, carve yourself into that someone you want to be and shine through the pain and sweat. Let your live be a long now and never a sea of maybe-tomorrow’s. Live out loud; live now.

2 thoughts on “Motivation in checkmarks

  1. Great post! Tbh, to-do lists is the only thing keeping me afloat these days. Couldn’t go without. And you’re absolutely right about living here and now (even though doing homework ‘now’ always sucks, maybe your ‘now’ later won’t because of it)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I’m glad you liked it! 🙂
      I’m not one for planning but sometimes I really can’t get anything done without a to-do list! Ha ha
      And yes, I understand that. But that’s the thing with boring/lame things, the sooner you get it done, the sooner you can get to do something you enjoy more. My motivation for these kind of things is to get to throw them in the “past bin” as soon as possible. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

