Thinking about home….

I still miss my homeland very much right now, especially after one full year away! But, my heart is beating cheerfully just to think that I’ll get to visit my family again and sooner than it feels! Indeed, I’m getting financial help from the district council (they give away a little amount of money to students that left for their education to help them come back for a while and visit their family ) and that means I will be able to buy a round trip ticket which are expensive as fuck! And well, that sure puts me in joy to know that I’ll see my little brother and mom soon and I’ll get to meet my nephew!

So, with all my thoughts directed to a little volcano floating (not really) in the Indian Ocean,  I drew a little something while listening to Brandi Carlile’s Wherever Is Your Heart and Hard Way Home. Alright, I’ll admit I listened to the whole Firewatcher’s Daughter album; couldn’t resist! Ha ha 😉

15975010_1327126434021429_8337249659040391902_o

I was messing around with Faber-Castell polychromos pencils, you know figuring out how to use the damn thing. As I’ve probably mentioned before, I’ve never been really good with colors but I didn’t buy fancy named pencils just to know I’ve got some! I’m rather proud of it, mostly with what I managed to do with the island.

There’s some kind of nice effect going on and I really like it! However, I’m not so proud of the ocean. I was a bit impatient today when I finished it so I kind of messed it up. So I tried my best to fix it with some baby oil… This isn’t exactly how I intended it to be but I still think it’s nice!

And before you ask, this is no way near the way beautiful Reunion Island looks! 😛 Just go look it up on Google, you won’t regret it I promise. There are some very talented photographs out there that captured its beauty. So rich and generous. I love every bit of it! And I guess that if you can afford it, it’d be a really nice place to go on your next vacation! 😉

There you go! Let me know if you like it!

Leave a Reply

