A Storm in a Teacup, a drawing & words 9.19.17


21753179_1573045396096197_7871025421645738282_o

So, I’m this weird cup. And what you can’t see is all the cracks between the pieces. There’s glue keeping them together but it’s cheap glue, hope/will/faith/strength/light/fuel; cheap glue. It’s always leaking!

It’s holding this black liquid inside, probably not something you’d want to drink. And it’s always leaking through the cracks. I try to hold it in, all the while dreading the big BREAK (and secretly wishing for it).

The Storm gets windy and I spill some. Will I ever run out? Will I break? Will there be glue again then?


Drew it while on the phone with my sister. It is (as weird as it feels for me to say it like that, I’ll admit) a self-portrait.

The name came from that little paragraph I wrote in a notebook back at my mom’s place last month after I learned the idiom “A storm in a teacup”. Basically, it means to make a big deal out of nothing and I thought, “Shit, saaaame.” And well, that’s about it for the story. Ha ha! πŸ˜‰

I was very amused when I discovered that sentence because, first of all, my over-dramatic self can relate and secondly, THE STORM guys!! And I do love me some tea! It just made so much sense these specific words put together like this.

That morning when I started drawing, I had no idea what I was doing. Just killing time, waiting for the cleaning lady to leave so I could get down to my business and lipsync to some ol’ rock’n’roll. And it wasn’t until I started messing up the top of the skull and ran downstairs to get some duct tape in an attempt to fix it that I saw the opportunity to link this fresh work to this older paragraph.

That’s a thing I love to do! Connections. When I create something new and I find that I can actually make a link between that fresh piece of me and an older one that I either left to macerate in a notebook or just kept somewhere deep in a folder cos it just made no sense at all. It’s a beautiful feeling. I do feel like a genius. Which I certainly am not. But it feels great. I’m like “wow, I did a thing with another thing” and I’m happy. And that’s a feeling I long for.

In other news, I enrolled for an evening art class at the community school which will take place on Tuesdays for ten weeks I think. So that’s something to look forward to! I’m really excited to start!! What I hope it brings me is knowledge and new skills, a little bit more confidence, new friends and the opportunity(and motivation?) to create more often. Can’t wait to begin and blooooooooooooom IT STARTS NEXT WEEK (only three more days to wait)

Until next post, keep doing what you love ❀

